Our network

Local band members honored | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Local band members honored
Local band members honored

News Release:

West Ottawa senior percussionist Tyler Bonkowski was selected to perform in the Michigan Youth Arts Festival Honor Band for the second year in a row while the school’s percussion ensemble was chosen as a finalist for the MYAF’s Outstanding Percussion Ensemble for the sixth straight year.

 Bonkowski earned the honor by having one of the top five scores in Michigan on his percussion solo at State Solo and Ensemble Festival. He will be featured with the MYAF Honor Band on a concert May 14 at Western Michigan University’s Miller Auditorium. The Honor Band will be under the direction of Central Michigan University Director of Bands John Williamson.

The West Ottawa ensemble was selected by their State Solo and Ensemble judge to be a finalist for the recognition. West Ottawa's ensemble is one of only five percussion ensembles from across the state vying for the honor of being named the best high school percussion ensemble in Michigan.

Members of the ensemble are Sarah Rasasak, Tyler Bonkowski, Sean Horner, Brian Paul, Andy Hutchison, Holly Renberg, Lucas Driesenga and Matt Smyk.

If they are selected as the MYAF Outstanding Percussion Ensemble, they will be featured on the MYAF Opening Gala Concert on May 12 and again at the MYAF Small Ensemble Collage Concert on May 14.  Both performances will be on the campus of Western Michigan University.

The West Ottawa High School Percussion Ensemble was also featured as a guest performer on a concert they shared with the Saginaw Valley State University Percussion Ensemble earlier this year.

Holland - Zeeland Deals