Our network


Holland business owner helps form Michigan Main Street Leadership Council

Holland business owner helps form Michigan Main Street Leadership Council

Job makers and small business owners across the state today announced the formation of the new Michigan Main Street Leadership Council, a steering committee that will work with lawmakers in Lansing to close the Internet sales tax loophole, level the playing field for local businesses on "main street” and protect Michigan jobs. The state House of Representatives is currently considering bipartisan House Bills 5004 and 5005 that would close the loophole and recognize that a sale is a sale is a sale.

Hope to present Meritorious Service Award to 1943 graduate, Barbara Dee Folensbee Timmer

HOLLAND – The Hope College Alumni Association will present 1943 graduate Barbara Dee Folensbee Timmer of Holland with a Meritorious Service Award on Saturday, Jan. 28, during the college’s annual Winter Happening event.

The award recognizes a person’s contributions to Hope and its alumni through notable personal service and long-time involvement with the college.  She will receive the honor during the Winter Happening luncheon, which will begin at 12:30 p.m. at the Haworth Inn and Conference Center.

Barbara Dee has been active in the life of the college in a variety of ways since enrolling as a freshman from New York—where her father was a Reformed Church minister--in 1939.

Hope Presents Awards to Faculty

Hope Presents Awards to Faculty

News Release:

HOLLAND – Hope College presented awards honoring teaching, service and scholarship to multiple faculty members during the college’s annual recognition luncheon on Monday, Jan. 9.

Named a “Towsley Research Scholar” was Aaron Putzke, assistant professor of biology.

The “Janet L. Andersen Excellence in Teaching Awards” were presented to Billy Mayer, professor of art, and Sonja Trent-Brown, associate professor of psychology.

The “Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Awards” were presented to Andy Nakajima, associate professor of Japanese, and Roger Nemeth, professor of sociology.

The “Academic Computing Advisory Team (ACAT) Innovation Award” was presented to Barry Bandstra, who is the Evert J. and Hattie E.

Senator Arlan Meekhof to speak at Lakeshore Republican Women meeting

Senator Arlan Meekhof to speak at Lakeshore Republican Women meeting

Holland, Michigan – January 9, 2012 - Senator Arlan Meekhof will be guest speaker at the Lakeshore Republican Women’s monthly meeting held at the Fillmore Center, 12220 Fillmore St., West Olive, Michigan.

State Senator Meekhof serves the 30th Senate District and is Majority Floor Leader where he represents the Republican majority on the Senate floor.  Sen. Meekhof will speak about his experiences in the Senate as well as upcoming issues.

Interested people are invited to join the Lakeshore Republican Women for a luncheon at the Fillmore Center on Monday, January 9, 2012 from 12:00pm – 1:30pm.  The cost is $10.00 per person.

Please call (616) 399-0914 to reserve a place.  Lakeshore Republican Women is an organization that wants to inform the public through education and activity.

Hope College Dance Faculty Member to Tour Middle East

HOLLAND - Crystal Frazier, who is the new tap/hip-hop instructor at Hope College, will be participating in State Department-organized international cultural exchange to the Middle East this spring through her role as a senior company member of Philadelphia-based Rennie Harris PureMovement (RHPM).

Nursing Professor & Student Honored

HOLLAND – A Hope College professor and student each received individual recognition for excellence during the recent induction and installation ceremony of the Kappa Epsilon Chapter-at-Large of the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.
The chapter recognized Dr. Barbara Baele Vincensi, assistant professor of nursing, with its “Excellence in Nursing Education Award” and senior Abby Branderhorst of Zeeland as the college’s recipient of an “Outstanding Student Performance Award.”

The event was held on Saturday, Dec. 3, at the Prince Conference Center at Calvin College in Grand Rapids.  The chapter includes the Calvin, Ferris State University, Grand Valley State University and Hope nursing programs.

West Ottawa students chosen for State Honors Choir

Five West Ottawa High School students have been selected to perform with the Michigan School Vocal Music Association’s State Honors Choir.

Logan Jones, Kelly and Maura Monahan, Mitch Hillerich and Jacob Anderson auditioned for the choir last Saturday with the MSVMA Region A Honors Choir and were chosen to perform in the State Honors Choir 2012. The auditions were held at East Grand Rapids High School.

The five will rehearse with the State Honors Choir and perform at the Michigan Music Conference on Jan. 19-21.

West Ottawa student Shay Steward was also a member of the Region A Honors Choir but was unable to audition for state due to college auditions.