Our network

Scott VanderStoep Chosen for National Leadership Development Program | Community Spirit

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Scott VanderStoep Chosen for National Leadership Development Program

HOLLAND – Dr. Scott VanderStoep, professor of psychology and chairperson of the department at Hope College, is one of only 42 faculty or administrators in higher education nationwide selected by the Council of Independent Colleges and the American Academic Leadership Institute to participate in a year-long Senior Leadership Academy.

The purpose of the academy is to prepare faculty and administrators for senior leadership positions in any division—including academic affairs, student affairs, finance, enrollment management, and advancement—in independent higher education.  As a participant, VanderStoep will attend two seminars, one in the fall in Williamsburg, Va., on Friday-Sunday, Nov. 5–7, and one in the spring in Washington, D.C. He will participate in a mentoring program, experiential learning projects, and a series of readings and case studies.

“Competition for the available places in the program was extremely keen,” said Richard Ekman, president of the Council of Independent Colleges. “It is worth noting that the review committee found the nomination materials to be most impressive. They (and I) believe that Dr. VanderStoep has the potential for highly effective leadership in a position of senior responsibility on campus.”

VanderStoep has been a member of the Hope faculty since 1999, and had also taught at Hope from 1992 to 1994.  He has led the college’s campus-wide assessment program since 2001, and was director of the college’s Carl Frost Center for Social Science Research from 1999 to 2004.  He is a previous president of the Board of Directors of Psi Chi, the International Honor Society in Psychology, in which he has also been active at the regional level.  Among other activities in the community, he currently serves as president of the West Ottawa Board of Education.  In January of this year Hope presented him with its Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award.